Home News MARAN Set to host grand reception for Lagos NUJ Chairman

MARAN Set to host grand reception for Lagos NUJ Chairman

by timenews
Spread the love
The Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) is set to host a grand reception and lecture in honour of its former President, Mr Leye Ajayi who was recently elected as the Chairman of Lagos Council of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ)
MARAN, established in 1988, is the foremost umbrella body of all maritime Journalists in Nigeria.
In a statement issued in Lagos on Monday by the President and Secretary of the association, Anya Njoku and Dapo Olawuni, the creme-de-la-creme of the Nigerian Maritime sector are billed to attend the event under the Chairmanship of Prince Olayiwola Shittu, former President of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA)
The event is billed to hold at the Rockview Hotel in Apapa, Lagos on Thursday March, 25th 2021 by 11am prompt.
The theme of the lecture is ”National  Development: The Challenges of and the Prospects for Proper Implementation of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act in Nigerian Maritime Industry “
The statement says that
MARAN is happy and  proud that of one of its own, Leye Ajayi is the number one journalist in Lagos.
Mr Ajayi served MARAN meritoriously as Secretary General and later as President, hence the grand reception in his name.
The grand reception and lecture aims to boost the synergy between the Maritime Press, industry players and the general public.
The lead paper would be presented by a seasoned Journalist and the Editor of the XPRESS Newspaper, Mr Emeka Okoroanyawu, who was one of the founders of MARAN in 1988.
A former General Manager and pioneer member of MARAN, Layinka Adagun, would also be a panel discussant to enhance the theme’s perspectives.
The special guests of honor expected at the event includes; the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Ms Hadiza Bala Usman, the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council, Barr Hassan Bello, and Managing Director, National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) Dr George Moghalu.
Others are; Assistant Comptroller General of Customs in charge of Zone ‘A’ Lagos, ACG Kaycee Ekekezie and the Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotosho.
The Chief Guests of Honors are; Chairperson of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN) Princess Dr Vicki Haastrup, the President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju and immediate past chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju.
Others are; President of ANLCA,  Hon Tony Iju Nwabunike and the founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) Dr. Boniface Aniebonam.
In addition, all MARAN past presidents and executives would be on ground to grace the occasion.

You may also like

Leave a Comment