Home News CRFFN Election:  5 Registered Associations  Meet, Agree on Sharing Formula , 6-6-1-1-1 …..Individual Candidates Flout Minister’s Directive.

CRFFN Election:  5 Registered Associations  Meet, Agree on Sharing Formula , 6-6-1-1-1 …..Individual Candidates Flout Minister’s Directive.

by timenews
Spread the love
By Ruth Sunday

Five Registered  and Accredited freight forwarding Associations  by the Council for the Regulation of the Freight Forwarding in Nigeria(CRFFN) have   unanimously agreed on the sharing formula of  6-6-1-1-1  representation into  the Governing Board of CRFFN..

The Associations that took the decision during a meeting at Rockview Hotels Apapa- Lagos include;National  Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders(NAGAFF), Association of Nigeria Licensed Customs Agents(ANLCA), Association of Registered Freight Forwarders in Nigeria(AREFFN), National Councilof  Managing Directors of Licensed Customs Agents (NCMDLCA) and  National Association of Air Freight and Consolidators(NAFAC).
The meeting was in line with the directive of the Permanent Secretary Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene .Ajani..  two weeks ago  at a stakeholders forum in Lagos that the Five Registered Association should meet and discuss with the  Individual Contestants who had opposed the  6-6-1-1-1 sharing formula on   as well as pleaded for fair opportunity to participate in the election as private candidates.
Addressing the Media shortly after their closed door meeting, the Chairman Board of Trustees National Council of Managing Directors of Licensed Customs Agents (NCMDLCA), Dr. Rafiu Oladipo said the group is not opposed to individuals who want to contest in the CRFFN  election.
He sounded it clear that they are not opposed to younger ones coming up  but stressed that the associations must provide leadership in order to move the freight forwarding business forward.
“Taking into consideration  the directive of the Minister of Transportation that we should  deliberate and and agree on representation in the CRFFN Governing Board based on the 15 number allocàtion for the forwarders.
“All the Registered Associations represented  by Dr. Frank Uko, Founder of
  AREFFN, TONY Iju Nwabunike, President of ANLCA; Bakare Adeyinka, President of   NAFAC, Dr. Boniface Aniebonam, Founder of NAGAFF and myself, Chairman Board of Trustees NCMDLCA. We considered everything that was on the table and everybody that was in that meeting agreed that we stand on 6-6-1-1-1 . arrangement.
“We do not oppose or fight any individual who wants to contest this election. Everybody’s free to contest elections,” he said.
 Speaking on the stand of the Freight Forwarders in the Eastern Zone regarding the provision of the CRFFN Act that the five slots allotted to the zone must be practitioners resident in the zone, the National President of the Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA), Iju Tony Nwabunike said, “We are now talking as freight forwarders consultative forum which is enshrined in the Act of CRFFN. I am standing here as the representative of ANLCA just like any other person here and let me tell you, we are going into this election with fifteen freight forwarders as one body because if you look at it critically, we want them to go and represent the freight forwarders and champion our problems. We have numerous problems in the port. So, it is not the CRFFN election that is the major issue, we are going beyond that.
Continuing nhe said, “If for example, the eastern zone is saying anything, like in ANLCA where I am President, we have zones, we have eastern zone, we have western zone and we have northern zone. So, if such a thing comes up, probably, it is not communicated to the Presidency of ANLCA, that is me, it is not acceptable until we discuss it and agree to that totally. I have not heard it, I have not seen it on my table and I don’t think it is true ,                                               .
“It’s high time we  discontinue talking about ANLCA, NAGAFF, AREFFN, Council of Managing Director, NAFAC. We need to put our heads together, as we are doing now, to make sure we actually solve the problems of our members who elected us into various positions because if you look at what is going on in the seaport and border ports, you will agree with me that they need our support.,” he opined..
Speaking also, the Founder of Association of Registered Freight Forwarders in Nigeria(AREFFN),. Frank Ukor said his association has accepted the sharing formula  but will not accept it again in subsequent elections.
“I said that I am going ahead with the other associations, that the five associations have  agreed , but I did say that  after this one , the next one, Obi has become a man,” he opined.
Adding his voice on behalf of NAFAC, the President of the association, BaKare Adeyinka, remarked  that despite the meeting of all the associations, there is the need for those clamouring for individual candidates to contest the election adding that the five registered associations will not be against their participation in the election..

He disclosed that the Forum resolved to ensure the progress of CRFFN election  while stressing the  need to promote and sustain professionalism  the port operations .

“What is important now is that the 15 people belong to the freight forwarding Industry  and they are going to represent the freight forwarders.
“Am not even looking at the associations anymore. The fifteen belong to the freight forwarding Industry and that is what matters and they are accredited. That is what matters here, not where I am coming from, in fact when we get to the Council, we make it clear no association is discussed . What we will discuss here is the freight forwarding business,” Bakere stated.
Dr. B.O Aniebonam (standing) making some explanations during the meeting.
Earlier in his opening remarks, the Founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders(NAGAFF) expressed dismay over the failure of the likes of Dr. Eugene Nweke, Dr. Increase Uche , Mr Frank who opposed the sharing formular , to attend the meeting to discuss further on modalities for the elections  raised them as directed by the Hon. Minister .
Dr Aniebonam disclosed that the letter of invitation which was copied to the Honourable Minister, Permanent Secretary and personally , sent it to Eugene Nweke, Increase Uche to attend the meeting and wondered why they were absent from the meeting
Photo:    R>L  DR, Farinto Kayode, Vice President ANLCA;  Mr Bakare Adeyinka, President NAFAC, Prince Tony Nwabunike, ANLCA President; Dr. Boniface Aniebonam, Founder NAGAFF; Dr Rafiu Oladipo, BOT Chairman NCMDLCA

You may also like

Leave a Comment