Home News NAGAFF GOES TO POLLS AUGUST 1, 2022. …..Gives condition for participation. 

NAGAFF GOES TO POLLS AUGUST 1, 2022. …..Gives condition for participation. 

by timenews
Spread the love


Photo:  L>R  NECOM Chairman, ENGR. Chukwunonso Ejikeme, DNP headquarters, Fwdr. Simeon Nwonu; National President, Chief Tochukwu Ezisi, DNP Seaports, Chief Afam Chukwuma
National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) has fixed August 1, 2022 for its Western Zone chapters general elections at  the national headquarters of the Association.
To this effect,   ban on electioneering campaign for elective positions into the various chapters at the Western Zone which includes Apapa, Tincan, PTML, KLT, and MMIA Chapters of the Nigerian Customs Service control areas has been lifted starting from today, 3rd June, 2022.
The NAGAFF Electoral Commission Chairman, Fwdr. Chukwunonso Ejikeme who announced in a Press briefing at the Association’s Headquarters in Apapa, Lagos also disclosed that sale of forms to contestants will commence Friday, 3rd June,2022 and ends Monday, 4th July,2022 would be obtained from NECOM at NAGAFF headqurter’s front desk with membership ID card and evidence of payment of CRFFN.
The NECOM Chairman also disclosed that the contestant fees are as follows: Chairmanship position N500,000, Vice Chairman – N250,000; Secretary – N250,000; Assistant Secretary -N200,000; Treasurer -N150,000; Financial Secretary – N150,000
Publicity Secretariat- 150,000
He used the forum to present  electoral guidelines to the President of NAGAFF, Chief Tochukwu Ezisi which stipulates that any contestant for elective position for chapter elections shall be  a registered member of the chapter where he/she has the right to vote and be voted for

Also,  a member with requisite qualifications in Freight Forwarding practice or who is currently undergoing courses in maritime related studies can participate.

Furthermore, an alumnus of NAGAFF Academy or any affiliated maritime institutions professional certification on freight forwarding is an added advantage stand a chance to contest and vote adding that staff of Freight Forwarding Companies and Licensed Customs Companies  shall register individually with NAGAFF and CRFFN to qualify to be either a contestant or a voter.

It further states that“Contestants for the chairmanship post must not be below age 30 years and the minimum age for other elective post is 25 years.

“Contestants and voters must be a bonafide member of NAGAFF and a registered member of CRFFN. For emphasis, if you are not a fully registered member of CRFFN there shall be no consideration for your participation either as a Contestant or eligible voter.

“Contestants for any position in the Chapter Executive must show that he or she has been a bonafide member of NAGAFF for a period of not less than two months preceding the date of election and incumbent Chairmen and their executives wishing to contest must show that payments of NAGAFF Chapter dues are up to date, subject to the prerogatives of power of the Founder, Board chairman and the National President to waive the requirement but the said waiver shall be in writing.

” NAGAFF election calendar starts third June,2022 3/06/2022 Sales of nomination forms commence on Friday, third of June 2022 (3/06/2022) and ends Monday, fourth July 2022 (4/07/2022).

“Nomination forms shall be obtained from NECOM at NAGAFF   Headquarters front desk with supporting documents such as membership ID card and evidence of payment of CRFFN.

“Money for purchase of nomination forms shall be made to NAGAFF UBA A/C No. 1017463242, A/C Name: NAGAFF.

“Deadline for return of nomination forms by contestants is on Monday, fourth of July 2022 (4/07/2022).

“Electoral complaint and petition should be addressed to the Chairman electoral petition Tribunal within 48 hours after election.

“Contestants and voters are enjoined to attach the photocopies of their   payments tellers and keep the original copy which will be presented on the screening day.

“Registration should be done at chapter levels in one Register, hence the NECOM will call for the Registers from all chapters for purposes of screening and accreditation.

” Every contestant must have at least two (2) Referees who must be   bonafide members of NAGAFF at the chapter level so as to ascertain  his/her eligibility and credibility to stand for the election.

” Mode of voting and eligibility: Voting will be by open secret ballots and only the eligible NAGAFF members can vote and be voted for.

” Time and Venue of Voting: the venue of the elections shall be at NAGAFF  village and voting will start by 10am – 4pm. Counting of votes starts  immediately, then declaration of results.

“Monies for purchase of Nomination Forms are non-refundable.  NECOM Chairman shall be at liberty to disqualify any contestant found  wanting in contravention of Electoral Guidelines of NAGAFF.

“In line with NAGAFF statutes, he said contestants are not allowed to use abusive  language or instigate violence pointing out volent behaviour by contestants/ supporters shall attract sanctions including disqualification.

It continued,  “every available position to be contested for is open to all members who have interest, stressing that a level playing field should be created at all Chapters of NAGAFF, Headquarters/Zonal offices by the executive to enable any candidate to call all members to sell his/her programmes to the electorate in the Chapters at anytime.

Speaking earlier, the Deputy National President of NAGAFF, Fwdr. Simeon Nwonu restated the determination of the association to ensure transparency in the conduct of the chapter elections, adding that they have resolved to improved on the election system hence the introduction of the Electoral guidelines.

Fwdr. Simeon Nwonu said emphatically that no executive member of the previous administration whose chapter defaulted in payment of remittances to the headquarters would be allowed to contest in the election.


You may also like

Leave a Comment